Trump Lawyer Kenneth Chesebro On His Role In The Runup To Jan. 6

The attorney who reportedly suggested that “‘wild’ chaos” would prompt Supreme Court justices to be more likely to intervene in the 2020 election has spoken exclusively with TPM about his representation of the Trump campaign during its efforts to overturn the election.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://talkingpointsmemo.com/?p=1419831
3 Likes

Most important take: he was totally wrong.

51 Likes

Chesebro. If all the courts had just seen things his way, Team TFG wouldn’t have had to burn down the Capitol! It’s not his fault. See, it was you bitches that made him do it!
(What a cheese-dick!)

21 Likes

But as a lawyer I have to think, the more debate the better

Isn’t that pretty much a requirement for any lawyer?

8 Likes

The more debate, the more billable hours, the more “legitimacy” of his argument.

16 Likes

Where in any of this discussion, did Chesebro show that there were any problems with the electoral process that necessitated all of this legal pretzelry? That’s the nub of it. This pervasive Republican fantasy that their losses are attributed to widespread voter fraud is just that. Experts examine this question over and over again, and come up dry, save the occasional Republican casting votes of their dead mothers. Without the foundation of his argument – that actual legitimate electoral fraud underpinned his efforts, I’d say Tribe described it perfectly: “Bullshit.”

48 Likes

Lawyers have a duty to uphold the law, and the process of producing fake electors in the hopes of sowing confusion in the electoral process does not do that. The lawyers who pushed these schemes need to be punished by their profession, so it’s made clear to all the rest that outlandish legal theories like this will not be allowed to undermine our system of government.

42 Likes