Discussion: Kavanaugh Gives Merrick Garland A Shout Out In Opening Statement

The audience of one will like this performance so far - a little salt in the wound to kick things off.

14 Likes

That Kavanaugh, he’s a real pander bear.

8 Likes

"I don’t decide cases based on personal or policy preferences. I am not a pro-plaintiff or pro-defendant judge. I am not a pro-prosecution or pro-defense judge. I am a pro-law judge.”

Seems legit.

5 Likes

Ah yes. And memories of John Roberts and his pledge to be an umpire calling balls and strikes. Why, Roberts still wears cleats to opening day at the Court. (Not really.)

12 Likes

That “umpire” bullshit–again. BK could at least come up with some new bullshit for Kabuki Theatre.

19 Likes

Just a tactic… Don’t believe him. If you want to know the quality of the man, his past with Ken Starr speaks for itself

16 Likes

Nominated by the “Law and Order” president…

8 Likes

We seem to be moving to a sense of inevitability on a confirmation of Kavanaugh. That will probably give Trump a little temporary lift in the polls, but the real issue is the impact on the voters. It would seem to anger and energize Democrats much like the Clarence Thomas nomination did. Our first big wave of female politicians winning election happened in 1992 (it included the election of Senator Feinstein and Senator Boxer) following the Clarence Thomas confirmation. Kavanaugh is in the unique position of having scared the crap out of the white working class, women and people of color. From the GOP side, I think one might see a split. While social conservatives will be quite happy about Kavanaugh, suburban white GOP women are going to feel threatened by what Kavanaugh means for abortion. We’ve seen this movie before in the 90s. White women supported Bill Clinton and abortion rights were the major the driver of his support. So, overall, I expect voters to re-learn a tough lesson about the courts and get out and vote.

25 Likes