The Flynn Dismissal Fiasco Has Somehow Gotten Even Messier | Talking Points Memo

An appeals court added another layer of complexity to the already convoluted mess surrounding the Justice Department’s effort to drop the Michael Flynn case.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://talkingpointsmemo.com/?p=1310313
1 Like

Look, I’m no lawyer, but Flynn pleaded f*cking GUILTY! What the hell am I missing here?!?

57 Likes

and Judge Neomi Rao, an appointee of President Trump’s a complete nut job.

54 Likes

The first person to be sent to jail after we get rid of tRump is BARR!

33 Likes

To be a fly on the wall in Sullivan’s chambers…excoriate, eviscerate,…so many choices.

15 Likes

I would surmise that all Sullivan needs to do is inform Flynn—again—that he has set July 16 as the date on which the merits of Flynn’s dismissal request will be heard.That would satisfy the Appeals Court ruling in the narrowest sense.

44 Likes

It’s called C.O.R.R.U.P.T.I.O.N…

20 Likes

Gosh, some of her opinions she has written have been insanely twisted with the case law she bothered to cite but mostly missing case law as a whole.

22 Likes

The government is going to have to come up with a new facility just cover all the Trump associates and tagalongs that will end up behind bars. On the other hand, there are those caged facilities on the Texas borders. The weather is quite nice there high summer.

17 Likes

The fast-tracking and request for a response from the judge are interesting, and everything Neomi Rao does is tainted, but the question they are asking is the right one.

The question is whether the phrase “leave of court” in Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 48(a) allows a judge to open up a request for dismissal the way Sullivan wants to do it.