The Christian Nationalist Hydra: In Era of Trump, Christian Nationalism Has Many Faces - TPM – Talking Points Memo

I am a journalist who has covered the Christian right for two decades. Over the past three years, I began to more frequently use the term “Christian nationalism” to describe the movement I cover. But I did not start using a new term to suggest its proponents’ ideology had changed. Instead, the term had come into more common usage in the Trump era, now regularly used by academics, journalists, and pro-democracy activists to describe a movement that insists America is a “Christian nation” — that is, an illiberal, nominally democratic theocracy, rather than a pluralistic secular democracy.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://talkingpointsmemo.com/?p=1485781
1 Like

I heard this program yesterday, re-broadcasted on Iowa Public Radio. The interviewer spoke with NPR’s Sarah McCammon, formerly of Iowa Public Radio. She spoke of her own experience in an evangelical family and the social/political expectations of adherents. She spoke of the mental health trauma that often results. And the challenges for those who wish to break away in her new book ”The Exvangelicals” I thought that this hour long program offered some insight into this subgroup.

34 Likes

"Of all bad men, religious bad men are the worst." – C.S. Lewis

36 Likes

Onward, Christian soldiers!
Marching as to war,
With the cross of Jesus,
Going on before.

8 Likes

What did Hillary say again, about a broad right wing conspiracy…

Truth is the church has been pimping for the rich since the beginning of churches.

22 Likes