Kinzinger Mulled Holding A ‘No Confidence’ Vote Against McCarthy In Wake Of Jan 6 Attack

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) is no longer a leader of the Republican party, as far as Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL) is concerned.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://talkingpointsmemo.com/?p=1373378

Jan. 6 may have been a buffet, but every dish had shit as its main ingredient.

Homonyms are fun.

Edit: I admire Kinzinger’s dedication to this as much as I deplore his fundamental politics, although I’m not an expert on his politics.

7 Likes

Adam, your party has left you. (h/t Ronald You-Know-Who)

8 Likes

He added that he estimates “maybe 10” of his GOP colleagues actually believe that the election was stolen

Sorry Kinzi, but it doesn’t matter what your colleagues believe. It only matters what they do.

23 Likes

“He had the opportunity after January 6 to, with Mitch McConnell, take the reins of the Republican party and be the leader and he handed those reins to Trump and revived him,” Kinzinger said.

Konrad Adenauer: “History is the sum total of things that could have been avoided.”

30 Likes

There is no mull. There is only do or no do.

12 Likes

He added that he estimates “maybe 10” of his GOP colleagues actually believe that the election was stolen and that some of them are “not really all that high IQ-ish on some things.” The remainder, he said, only spread it so they can keep being reelected.

The first set is stupid, the rest are flat out evil. And they are far more numerous.

17 Likes

You are safe in your assumptions. He’s not a traitor, but he’s definitely a Republican.

12 Likes

Neither deserve to be called adults, let alone “leaders”.

8 Likes

Kinzinger should have done it. I don’t give him high marks for thinking about it.

8 Likes

In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king!