Discussion: The ‘Twisted World’ Elliot Rodger Lived In

Discussion for article #223196

I think that there is more to it than this young man thinking that woman were just play things. I believe that if he wanted a relationship with a woman that he could have had one if he wanted one. I believe that this young man wanted Miss Universe and would not be satisfied with anyone else. Obviously he grew up in culture of money and anything you wanted was yours if you have the money. Why he was focused on the prom queens shows how shallow his world was. He obviously thought that of who he was growing up privileged that only the most beautiful was worthy of him. That is so sad when if he would have not been so shallow when it came to women and their looks and his male egotism and sexist views of women he might have had a real relationship with someone. Maybe not Miss Universe, but Miss Congeniality. Of course I have not been young for many years, so I am no expert. He was obviously a very disturbed individual who needed help. It was a terrible and senseless tragedy that his dad didn’t get to his son in time.

1 Like

I know Rodger suffered from serious mental issues, but just how unusual is misogyny and narcissism among 19-20 year old college men? And just how unusual is narcissism and misandry among young college aged women? Nearly all college aged kids get over being 20. We all live in a society that encourages objectification of the opposite sex. Don’t believe me just read any of a dozen magazines focusing on the lives of movie stars. I think there is something more, something we are all missing, in this story. To me this is more like a suicide that turned into a murder suicide than anything else.

I think there is a mental health angle to this story that is being ignored. It isn’t that Rodger didn’t signal his intentions. It isn’t even that his family didn’t try to sound an alarm. Seven young people might be alive today if his cries had been heard and acted upon.

3 Likes