Discussion: Philly Cuts Off Cooperation With ICE, Citing Indiscriminate Raids, Arrests

As a Philly resident, I cannot stress enough how much balls this decision shows from the mayor and the DA. We are not San Francisco or New York City but a perennially cash-strapped city at the mercy of a Republican state legislature and the Feds. The mayor is doing the right thing here (after some push from the Left) but it is not, unlike in NY and CA, an easy thing.

63 Likes

As the Trump Administration has set up a Denaturalization Task Force, it’s clear no immigrant is truly safe from the threat of deportation. As such, I applaud this move by the city of Philadelphia. These are scary times for anyone born abroad regardless of how long they’ve been here or love this country.

With this President, if you dare to criticize him publicly and are a naturalized citizen, I imagine your status gets looked at very closely by the Millers in his orbit.

24 Likes

54 Likes

This is excellent. Expect more cities to come. Welcome to the fight. This time, I know our side will win.

21 Likes

“We’re not going to provide them with information so they can go out and round people up,” Democratic Mayor Jim Kenney said Friday as he announced his decision to let a decade-old contract with ICE expire at the end of next month.

Does the AP put “Republican” next to Trump’s name every time they mention him?
I hate the AP.

22 Likes

Good for him. As the mayor pointed out, ICE is targeting decent, law-abiding, hard working people whose only problem is their resident status situation. Declaring open season on them and watching them dragged from their homes makes thoughtful citizens feel less safe, not more, I think. It happens in the burbs, too, and we don’t like it one bit. We’re fighting with votes, since we don’t have the clout Philly has. Decapitate the octopus, the arms go limp, right?

27 Likes