Discussion: Bizarro World: I Heart Standardized Tests...And Republicans Don't?

Discussion for article #232355

And the GOP/Teatroll war on creating an educated and informed voting populace continues unabated…

“We have 50 states, so it just stands to reason that one of the states, no matter what, will be 50th in educational attainment. We aim to be that state.”

2 Likes

Pretty much everyone I know who works in education (which is a lot of people, since I work in education) opposes standardized testing. They may not oppose assessment, but there is no love for standardized testing which pretty much everyone agrees is a poor assessment.

The exceptions, incidentally, work for testing companies.

4 Likes

I work in education, though I also did do a short stint for NCS Pearson’s testing division. So I have seen both sides. And I can tell you, from this liberals point of view, standardized testing as it is done in NCLB has very little value, and is probably actually hurting education. Like you, I have been in education for a long time, and I have only met a small handful of educators who support standardized tests. I can probably count them on one hand.

If a writer had actually had a decent education, they would probably be aware that when you’re not using a heart symbol you can write out “I love X” instead of “I heart X”, and thereby not look like an ignoramus.

If you’ve ever read anything this guy has written here or elsewhere you might remember his ridiculous defense of Campbell Brown. The writer is a booster for the Charter School industry. He’s all about privatization. And he hates having to read the comment sections on his own work. Tells you a lot right there imo. I’ve read the three or so things he’s written here at TPM and I don’t think I’ve agreed with his take on anything so far.