Discussion: Americans United For Change #NotAScientist

Discussion for article #223508

In what universe do they believe that this accomplishes anything other than reinforcing the durp?

1 Like

I’m not a scientist but I think it has to do with a series of tubes and they can get filled.

2 Likes

Since Republicans ignore facts to satisfy their global corporate agenda, you could make ones for #notaneconomist, #notaworker, #notforcivilrights, and more.

10 Likes

TedOphiles are being led to believe that intelligence and integrity

are diseases that need eradicating…

The effort is overwhelmingly ‘successful’…{{{sigh}}}

3 Likes

I think the intent is admirable but I would like to see charts of data interspersed with the false statements from pols, just to demonstrate how completely wrong they are. This ad just feels like preaching to the choir.

5 Likes

Gotta say this ad does nothing to address the ignorance of those on the right, since it only states what a lot of them already believe, thereby reinforcing their hardened attitudes about global warming. Belief is not Science. It does reinforce however what those of us on the left have been saying all along…but that’s just preaching to the choir.

What’s needed in an ad is to somehow be able to show how the consensus of the scientific community came about, how long we’ve been ignoring this threat while time is running out on some irreversible damage to the planet, and a way to refute those statements made by these opportunistic politicians. We need to educate the public on how these politicians are being willfully deceptive by showing the amount of money they get in contributions from the fossil fuel sector for their campaigns, which bars them from admitting the truth and makes them shills for that industry.

That’s a lot for one ad however…but its closer to what’s needed.

6 Likes