Discussion: <i>Selma</i> Did Distort History—And Was Right To Do So

Discussion for article #232171

No. Though it may seem justified to distort history “in the opposite direction” to correct past perceptions, it’s a bad idea. This doesn’t correct the truth, it ghettoizes it. You can have your truth, and I can have mine, and everybody else is entitled to come up with some reason to bend truth their own way.

You would think that academics on the left would have learned the lessons of the excesses of multiculturalism and post-modernism. The people who today deny global warming and try to inject “intelligent design” and creationism into science curricula use the same arguments. The common refrain "I am not a scientist, but . . . " allows global warming deniers to reject the scientific framework in favor of their own personal truth.

History happened. It can never be precisely measured, but there is no acceptable excuse to distort it.

17 Likes

“History”, as has been noted by many, “is the propaganda of the victor.”

What benefit do we gain from any history that actively distorts reality to “make a point?”

Robert Caro’s magnificent (and still uncompleted) biography of Johnson is an exhaustive look at a man
filled with many contradictions, but a man who happened to be at the right place in history to achieve what no other
US politician had or could do…get effective Civil Rights legislation through a Congress fully controlled by its most fervent opponents.

Kennedy’s death, Johnson’s assumption of power, his encyclopedic knowledge of Congressional rules and the members of both houses, his awareness of his opponents weaknesses and needs…all were used to win passage.

Both King AND Johnson faced massive challenges and for King it included implacable and often violent resistance from supporters of segregation, rigged legal systems, and vigilantism, not to mention calls by many in the black community to fight back with counter violence.