James Gandolfini Died Of Cardiac Arrest, Roman Hospital Says | Talking Points Memo

ROME (AP) — Organizers of the Taormina Film Festival scrambled Thursday to put together a last-minute tribute to U.S. actor James Gandolfini, after he suffered a fatal cardiac arrest while in Italy to attend the festival’s closing ceremony and receive an honor from the Sicilian resort city.Gandolfini was pronounced dead at 11 p.m. (2100 GMT; 5 p.m. EDT) Wednesday in Rome after being rushed by ambulance to the Policlinic Umberto I hospital. Dr. Claudio Modini, head of the hospital emergency room, said Gandolfini arrived at the hospital at 10:40 p.m. (2040 GMT; 4:40 p.m. EDT) and was pronounced dead after reanimation efforts in the ambulance and hospital failed.


This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://talkingpointsmemo.com/?p=87454