Five Points On The Wild Allegations Against Texas’ Attorney General From His Top Staff | Talking Points Memo

In what’s been described as a “mutiny,” top deputies of Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton signed onto a letter Friday accusing him of everything from “improper influence” to abuse of office, bribery “and other potential criminal offenses.”

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://talkingpointsmemo.com/?p=1336509
1 Like

It really seems that all GOP Texas pols are either crooks or idiots or both…

25 Likes

I have no special knowledge of Ken Paxton, but he really is just deeply and fundamentally crooked.

26 Likes

Man, how crooked do you have to be for seven of your top aides to turn on you? In Texas of all places?

31 Likes

Levels of crookedness that would expose your senior staff to obstruction of justice charges, it seems.

31 Likes

And is operating under the theory that everyone else is just as fundamentally corrupt. It must be such a sad world that these people inhabit who spend all their days convinced that everyone is just looking out for Numero Uno and waiting for the opportunity to cut their neighbor’s legs out from under them.

17 Likes

I am going to guess the calls for Paxton to resign are going to be too much. The Texas R’s don’t need this around their neck for the next weeks going into the election.

Paxton appears to be as crooked as they come and has used every move he could to avoid his securities fraud trial.

Paxton is the lead AG fighting the Affordable Care Act before the Supremes.

I think he is out by Wednesday.

34 Likes

This is an ad from his 2018 opponent showing what an ethical black hole Paxton is. He rummages through the metal object trays at the courthouse security gate looking for things to steal. In this particular day he happened to nab a $1000 pen (who knew?) that some hapless, overpaid lawyer left behind:

29 Likes